Raw chocolate torte

DSC_0025

Well I’ve been very busy in the last couple of days but I almost really needed to bake something! This vegan torte is without baking but it counts anyway! (: The preparation is easy and quickly done. The torte contains no sugar, it takes its sweetness from the dates (which have a strong natural sweetness). I found this recipe on ‘petite kitchen‘, which is one of my favorite sources for vegan dishes and pastries, and it looked soo good. On this point I have to confess: I LOVE CHOCOLATE! Even though it’s just in form of cacao powder in here. So thanks petite kitchen for this yummy recipe! I always have a glass of my favorite soya milk with chocolaty treats! (:

Ingredients:

  • 14 medjool dates, pitted
  • 113g ground almonds
  • 6 tbsp cocoa, plus a little extra for dusting
  • 5 tbsp melted cocoa butter (you can also use coconut oil or butter) (I used coconut butter)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • a pinch of sea salt

Instructions:

Line a small 17,5cm cake tin with a circle of baking paper. You could also use a slice tin.
Place all of the ingredients in to a food processor.  Blend for a minute or so until the mixture turns in to a crumb like mixture. Spoon in to the prepared cake tin then use your hands to press down evenly. Chill for at least 4 hours or overnight. Carefully remove from the tin, then dust with cocoa.
Stores in the fridge for 5-6 days.
DSC_0023
This is my favorite soya milk! (:
Enjoy,
N&N (:
13 thoughts on “Raw chocolate torte

  1. Oh wow. This looks amazing! I love the idea of getting a chocolate fix with lots of other goodness like dates and nuts. I’ve been experimenting with similar recipes recently! Thanks for this gorgeous post x

    1. me too because i like it when the chocolaty taste is more bitter than sweet! (: as you seem to have experience with this kind of recipes, do you have any advice for me? thanks in advace! (:

      1. I don’t know if I could offer you any advice… hm, your recipe is pretty good already. I normally like to add in some toasted walnuts to cakes like this, for a bit of crunch/textural difference and extra deliciousness! You can also use this recipe to make brownies, or you could use it as a filling for a pie and make a base out of blended up nuts (almonds or walnuts) and medjool dates. If so, I’d probably cut down on the ground almonds in the chocolate mixture itself. Lovely recipe!

  2. yum, and I love that this looks so easy! It looks really rich and dense. Does it have a dense chewy brownie texture? Just trying to imagine what it tastes like before making it 😛

    1. yes it does have a brownie texture but only if you store it on room temperature, if you prefer eating it cold (as i do), it tastes a bit like frozen brownie dough! (: if you really want it to be chewy like a brownie, i suggest making it thicker! (:

Leave a Reply

