My grandmother´s dark bread

DSC_0983

My grandmother´s dark bread- it has always been there since I was little. And it´s one of the best and healthy home made breads I have ever eaten. It´s best when it´s freshly baken- eaten with butter and chives or cottage cheese, the crust is really crunchy and the dough inside is still warm and moist. My grandmother never really buys bread except of rolls once in a while. Otherwise she always bakes two loafs of dark- and two loafs of white- bread twice a month and freezes some of it.

This is what you will need:

  • 1kg rye flour
  • 1 kg wheat flour
  • 1 tbs. of dried fennel
  • 1 tbs. salt
  • 1 package of dry yeast
  • 400 ml warm water

Combine flours, dry yeast, fennel and salt in a large bowl. Stir well using a cooking spoon. Then add warm water and start kneading dough until well knead and dough turns out smooth. Cover with a kitchen towel and let rise for about 30 minutes. Form a large loaf and 2 smaller ones and bake in oven for about an hour until dark brown! (oven temperature 180°C). Let cool out on baking racks and…

…enjoy,

N&N.

DSC_0969

12 thoughts on “My grandmother´s dark bread

  1. That looks great, I must try it. If you prove it for an hour or two I assume it rises a lot more, is there a reason you for yours for just 30 minutes? Is it better dense and low? I’m just curious as it looks absolutely delicious and I’ll give it a go 🙂

    1. Well honestly my grandmother has never measured her ingredients. So when I wanted to post her recipe we did it together and I measured everything. Just like the time- it´s just approximate but letting it rest for a half an hour will be enough for this bread! Thank you Emma. (:

    1. Thank you very much. I think dark bread still has to get more popular, it´s soo good and healthier! (:

Leave a Reply

