Blueberry bread

Image

Well as I’ve been looking through some old posts from one of my favorite bloggers (petite kitchen), I found this recipe. It actually is a blueberry cake but it’s very fluffy because it contains plain yoghurt. I baked this late at night because my best friend visited me and she was about three hours late and she was craving for something sweet. I wasn’t even able to bake it long enough because she was so impatient and so the dough in the center of the cake still was a little raw, but she didn’t mind. You can have it plain or dusted with icing sugar. Maybe this is weird but I had some coconut yoghurt (my favorite) left and so I had the cake with coconut yoghurt. You seriously have to try this combination if making the cake! It is so good! As you can see in the pictures, my cat also wanted to have some cake while I was taking the photos. THe only thing I have changed in the recipe was that I replaced a part of the yoghurt with buttermilk because I had some left. (:

Ingredients:

180g flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
240ml natural yogurt
225g sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
120ml vegetable oil
285g blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 160°C Grease a loaf pan with butter, and line the bottom with baking paper.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the yoghurt, sugar, eggs, vanilla and oil.  Slowly whisk the dry ingredients in to the wet ingredients until well combined. Mix the blueberries carefully in to the batter, but do not over mix as the dye will run in to the batter making it blue.

Pour the batter in to the prepared pan and bake for about 50-60 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean.

Allow the loaf to cool in the pan for around 10 minutes before lifting out on to a cooling rack.

Image

DSC_0052

Enioy,

Noemi (:

facebok-icon

11 thoughts on “Blueberry bread

  1. I want a piece of this awesome, mouthwatering deliciousness right now! There are no words to describe how good it looks – and the recipe sounds pretty easy 🙂

    Oh and how cute is your little kitty cat? Adorable!! ❤

    xx Anna

  2. Beautiful recipe! I love that you used yogurt – and coconut yogurt at that. Nice flavors. It sounds like a great time (and snack) with your friend. Do you think that frozen blueberries would work in this? It is hard to find good, fresh ones this time of year where I live. Nice job!

    1. Yes, the yoghurt makes the cake really fluffy and we had such a good time! Of course you can use frozen blueberries but make sure that they don’t defrost before using for not having a blue bread! (:

Leave a Reply

