Vegan scones

Bild

Yesterday my mother left early for a climbing trip with her friend but because of the heat we currently have in Austria, I woke up even earlier and I decided to prepare a little breakfast treat for them. I made two things I recently found on the amazing blog ‘A Vegan Kitchen’. One of these two treats were the scones that I will present you in this post and the other one I will present you in the next days. (: I came to this blog through Instagram and was amazed by the recipes! The two I’ve already made worked out really well and they tasted so good! These scones taste best with butter/margarine, jam or any kind of nutbutter. I had apricot jam we got from my granny as we visited her  last sunday, sooo delicious! I used whole spelt flour instead of white flour because I prefer the taste but you can use the one you prefer.  I just love the fact that these scones are made with coconut oil instead of margarine because coconut oil is full of healthy fats your body needs.

Enjoy!

Bild

Ingedients:

  • 480g flour, plus extra for kneading the dough
  • 120g shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 120ml coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 360ml almond milk

Bild

Preparation:

 Preheat oven to 200C.

 In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients.

Mix in coconut oil.

Add the vanilla extract and then slowly mix in the almond milk working the dough as little as possible, until you have a dough that just barely sticks together.

Turn the dough out on a heavily floured cutting board.

Kneed the dough slightly. When it is done, it should be easy to handle and smooth.

Gently pat the dough in to two 1 1/2 inch thick disc.

Cut each disc in to 6 pieces.

Transfer scones to a tray lined with baking paper.

Bake scones for 15-20 minutes or until very lightly golden.

Bild

Bild

Bild

Bild

have a great breakfast

Nadja & Noemi (:

2 thoughts on “Vegan scones

Leave a Reply

