carrot oatmeal cookies and vegan grocery shopping

DSC_0049

So like I have promised- here follows the second recipe from ‘101 cookbooks’. They´re carrot oatmeal cookies! These cookies taste sooo good, so thanks to 101 cookbooks! I got the coconut oil in the new vegan supermarket that opend on thursday in Vienna. It’s called maran vegan as I already mentioned in the previous post. They have a huge assortment of vegan organic food and also fresh vegetables and fruits. I went there with my friend Niki (we often do food shopping together, it’s always so fun! (: ) and we spent a looooong time looking through all the stuff in there. It was so uncomplicated because I didn’t have to watch the ingredients of the items I bought for being vegan or not. So I will definitely go there for my groceries more often. Anyhow, I didn’t use fresh ginger  for these cookies because I couldn’t get one, so I used ground dried ginger. It tastes yummy but I guess the ginger flavor isn´t as strong and fresh as if using freshly grated ginger.

Ingredients:

  • 120g whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 75g rolled oats
  • 86g chopped walnuts
  • 130g shredded carrots
  • 120ml real maple syrup, room temperature
  • 120ml unrefined (fragrant) coconut oil, warmed until just melted
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger

DSC_0034

DSC_0038

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375F degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and oats. Add the nuts and carrots. In a separate smaller bowl use a whisk to combine the maple syrup, coconut oil, and ginger. Add this to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

DSC_0039

Drop onto prepared baking sheets, one level tablespoonful at a time, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie. Bake in the top 1/3 of the oven for 10 – 12 minutes or until the cookies are golden on top and bottom.

DSC_0045

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

DSC_0050

Enjoy,

N&N (:

3 thoughts on “carrot oatmeal cookies and vegan grocery shopping

Leave a Reply

