cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter

DSC_0045

Yesterday I was looking for some vegan blogs and found a top ten of inspiring blogs on ‘The Kitchn’ I looked through all of them and was amazed! One blog on the list was ‘101 cookbooks’. I’ve already known this blog but didn’t know it has a category for vegan recipes. I am so happy about that! I looked through the recipes and chose two. The first one is the the cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter that I will present you right here in this post and about the second one I won’t tell you too much at the moment but it will follow this weekend so just be patient! (: On Thursday my friend Niki and I were at the opening of the first vegan supermarket in Vienna which I announced in a previous post. It was AMAZING! It is called ‘maran vegan’ but more about that in my previous post along with the recipe as well! So to return to this recipe: it is yummy and lovely and the toasted sunflower seeds smell like cookies! Enjoy it on whole grain bread or with a banana. Thanks to the amazing stunning 101 cookbooks for sharing this recipe, I hope and wait for you to come up with more lovely creations! (:

Ingredients:

  • 225g raw sunflower seeds
  • 60ml sunflower oil, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, plus more as needed
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla bean paste (or seeds scraped from 2 plump vanilla beans) (I used pure vanilla powder)
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • zest of 1/2 a lemon, or to taste (I didn’t use this)

DSC_0044

Instructions:

Toast the sunflower seeds in a 165°C oven, on a rimmed baking sheet, until fragrant and golden. You’ll want to stir them once or twice along the way to ensure even roasting. Let cool for ten minutes.

Puree the seeds in a food processor along with 1 tablespoon sunflower oil, and the sea salt (if using). As the motor runs drizzle in another 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil. Scrape down the sides once or twice along the way, you’re aiming for an even, creamy consistency, and it may take some time. Once the mixture starts to look smooth, add the vanilla paste and cinnamon, and pulse to incorporate. At this point, evaluate the consistency, if your sunflower seed butter is on the thick side, drizzle in the remaining tablespoon of oil while the processor is running. Taste, and add more salt if needed (and the lemon zest. if using), as well.

Makes about 380 g.

DSC_0038

DSC_0047

Enjoy,

N&N (:

5 thoughts on “cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter

Leave a comment