Rich lemon curd sponge for my mother’s birthday

dsc_0028

My mother’s birthday was actually one week ago but as she spent it in Greece, we celebrated it today. We invited some of her friends and it was really nice. I told her she could choose any cake she wanted and she decided to get this lovely cake. The last time I prepared it, was last summer. It is a cake that I recommend for summer. If you prefer eating something fresh and fruity instead of a chocolaty treat (I’m ok with eating chocolate in summer but just for those of you who aren’t (; ).Don’t get me wrong, the cake is rich because of the cream and the sponge is moist but it is a light kind of rich if you know what I mean. The recipe is from Annie Bell’s ‘Gorgeous Cakes’ which Nadja brought me from her trip to London and sent it to me as a birthday gift during my exchange year in France. I can really recommend this incredible cook book. Annie Bell really did a great job and her comments to the recipes are so lovely and also very helpful. Well I hope you enjoy the cake as much as my mum and our invités did! (:

DSC_0025

Ingredients (for a 20cm cake):

Cake:

  • 225g unsalted butter, diced
  • 225g golden granulated sugar
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 50ml double cream
  • finely grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons dark rum (optional but I used it)

Filling:

  • Finely grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 medium organic eggs
  • 60g unsalted butter
  • 90g golden granulated sugar
  • 200g mascarpone

Topping:

  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 50g golden granulated sugar

DSC_0032

Preparation:

First make the lemon curd for the filling. Place all the ingredients except the mascarpone in a bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Whisk until the butter melts, then continue to whisk for a couple of minutes until the mixture resembles a thick custard. Pass it through a sieve into a bowl, cover with clingfilm and chill for a couple of hours until it sets.

Preheat the oven to 170°C fan/190°/gas mark 5 and butter a 20cm cake tin 9cm deep with a removeable base. Place all the cake ingredients in a food processor and cream together. Transfer the mixture to the cake tin, smooth the surface and bake for 50-55 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Run a knife around the edge of the cake. Combine the lemon juice and sugar in a bowl,stirring to evenly distribute it, then spoon over the top of the cake. Leave it to cool, allowing the juice to sink into the sponge.

Blend 100g (I used more to make the filling taste more fruity) of the lemon curd with the mascarpone. You can leave the cake on the base or remove it as you prefer. Slit with a bread knife and spread the lower half with the lemon mascarpone cream, then sandwich with the top half.
DSC_0026

DSC_0027

If not serving within a few hour, cover and chill the cake. bring it back up to room temperature 30-60 minutes before serving.

DSC_0045

Enjoy, 

N&N (:

2 thoughts on “Rich lemon curd sponge for my mother’s birthday

  1. – First, Happy Birthday to your Mom! 😀
    – This cake sound marvelous, Liz! Yum!
    – I have questions: 1) Is golden granulated sugar same as light brown sugar? 2) Why do you add baking powder when you are using self-raising flour? (I never used self-raising flour and don’t know anything about it other than the name suggests.)

    1. Thank you! I will pass your greetings to my mum! 😀 To answer your questions:
      1) Yes, it is pretty much the same, so you can use light brown sugar as well!
      2) That’s what the recipe says but I used normal flour. Self raising flour is flour that already contains baking powder. I’ve never seen it in any supermarket or baking shop in Austria and thereby never used it either. If it is mentioned in a recipe, I simply use a little more baking powder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

