Cherry streusel pie & Happy 4th of July


DSC_0686


Happy 4th of July to America! (: I´ve been very busy today helping with my family´s farm, re-painting window sills and doors. And in the evening I still felt like baking, baking is really relaxing for me. Meanwhile I mostly chat with my family or friends or listen to music when I am alone. I think when I have to bake under pressure it´s not as much fun, as if I can take my time. Well anyhow I made some adorable cherry and vanilla creme streusel pie. It´s a pie crust dough and it tastes really crumbly such as the streusel on top and inside it seems like the cream and cherry combination literally  melts in your mouth!

Yummy! (: I´m glad I came up with another cherry recipe!

Have a great 4th of July!

DSC_0666

This is what you will need:

Piecrust:

  • 200g flour
  • 50g sugar
  • 100g butter
  • 1 egg

Put flour, sugar, and butter on your working surface. Start kneading. Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour until no butter lumps remain. Add egg and keep kneading until dough is smooth. Roll out and fit into your pie form.

Filling:

homemade vanilla cream

  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1/4l milk
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 50g powdered sugar
  • 30g cornstarch
  • 250g cherries

Scrape out vanilla pod pulp and add to milk in a saucepan. Heat over medium temperature. Meantime mix egg yolks and powdered sugar until egg yolks almost turn white, then add cornstarch. Whisk in milk and vanilla mixture and stir constantly until creme will thicken!  Layer the cherries on the bottom of your pie crust, spread vanilla cram on top.

Streusel:

  • 170g flour
  • 60g sugar
  • 100g butter
  • 1 tsp. of cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and form crumbles using your hands. Put streusel on top of your vanilla cream and bake in oven for about 30 minutes until streusel turn golden brown (oven temperature: 175°C).

Enjoy!

N&N

DSC_0840

17 thoughts on “Cherry streusel pie & Happy 4th of July

  1. beautiful pie! I’ve never heard of mixing the crust ingredients right on the work surface before (there again I’m not very skilled in crusts / doughs). Neat 🙂

    1. Thank you Kelly. My grandmother showed me how to make pie crust a long time ago, so I always do it the way she does it. She always kneads her dough right on a working surface, because she never had an electric mixer when she was young. (:

Leave a Reply

