Irresistible cinnamon buns

DSC_1211When somebody asks me what my favorite baked goods are I always answer: cinnamon buns. I love cakes, muffins, chocolate and many other things too, but I guess I could eat cinnamon buns all day long.  🙂 I think they are very special and particularly in the wintertime cinnamon creates a very warming feeling! If you wonder why I didn´t make a glaze topping, you should know I do not really like sticky glazes on it and I think they are perfect without it as well!

I hope you like them and enjoy them as much as I do!

Nadja

Cinnamon buns dough:

  • 1/4l milk
  • 1 package of yeast
  • 60g sugar
  • 4 tbs. melted butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbs. vanilla sugar
  • 300g of flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Heat milk, set aside and add yeast, sugar and vanilla sugar. Fold in melted butter and the egg yolk. Mix together flour, salt and nutmeg in a bowl and add the milk mixture. Either knead the dough with your hands our a food processor until smooth. Cover with a kitchen towel and let it rise for  an hour.

DSC_0188DSC_0195Filling:

  • 150g butter
  • 120g sugar
  • 3 tbs. vanilla sugar
  • ( raisins as preferred)

Mix together butter,sugar and vanilla sugar. Roll out the dough and elapse the butter filling over it. Spread cinnamon (and as preferred raisins) on top. Form to a roll and cut into two to three centimeter pieces. Place them on a parchment paper covered tray and let rise for another 40 minutes. Bake them for around 35 minutes (oven temperature 170°C).

DSC_1202

2 thoughts on “Irresistible cinnamon buns

Leave a Reply

