Homemade vanilla sugar

DSC_0086When I was in the States I wanted to bake some of my recipes from Austria, and when I went grocery shopping I noticed most American grocery stores do not sell vanilla sugar. Instead they offer vanilla extract and  I am not a big fan of extracts. And since it´s Christmas cookies time I have prepared a jar of homemade vanilla sugar. It´s very easy to make,  100% natural and it lasts for a very long time. When you open the jar an incredible fragrance spreads.

You can either use

  • 500 g powdered sugar or caster sugar
  • one vanilla pod

Cut vanilla pod longwise and scrape out the seeds. Stir together the sugar and vanilla seeds and fill into a jar.

Enjoy,

Nadja

One thought on “Homemade vanilla sugar

Leave a Reply

